top of page

The Caves of Argostoli


Hey Lovies, welcome back to my blog or if this is your first time welcome. Today, I want to tell you about my wonderful experience with the breath-taking caves of Argostoli, Kefalonia, a Greek Island. I am unsure of how popular this island is because I found it hard to find other people’s reviews on it, but trust me add this island to your bucket list. I came to this island by way of a cruise ship and only had about five hours to spend here. Before arriving at Argostoli, I did hear a lot about the Melissani Cave Lake, and I decided I had to go there.

We caught a taxi for three people for 100 euro. The taxi ride included our fantastic driver/tour guide taking us to the two caves I am going to review plus other stops along the way. Now to the reason you are here, the CAVES.

Drogarati Cave

I had never heard about this cave, but I was so thankful that our driver recommended it. Drogarati Cave is this enormous underground cave. I mean you can host a football game in there. Drogarati has many beautiful rock formations and hidden passageways. The air in this cave is so amazing. I did not know I could love air so much, but this stuff was purely refreshing. Below are some tips and information needed for the cave:

  • Cost: 5 euro

  • Bring a Jacket: Very cold inside. Usually 18 degrees

  • Steep Steps: To get into the cave you have to walk down steep steps and the same to get out.

  • A lot of walking: The cave is huge and there is a lot of walking including more steps in the cave.

  • Food & Bathroom: There is a place to grab a snack and use the restroom at the cave.

  • How to get there: Hire a taxi or take a tour via a tour company or your cruise ship. I recommend taking a taxi. It felt like a private tour and it is cheaper.

Melissani Cave Lake

Now, this is the most popular tourist destination in Argostoli and for a great reason. I did not know what to expect when I got to this cave. I wondered if we could get in the water or stand on the side and look around. Needless to say, it was nothing like that. When we got to the Meissani Cave, there were many tour buses and groups, whereas, at Drogarati, there were none. We had to wait in a somewhat long line, but I promise you it is worth it. Once I got inside the cave, I saw that there were these boats who took you across the lake and through the caves. The boat ride across the cave was not extra. My amazing driver took all my pictures for me because he’s excellent. Once inside the cave, you see why people come from around the world to be there. It is genuinely break-taking. Please enjoy my photos and imagine yourself there. Below are some tips and information for visiting the cave:

  • Cost 7 euro

  • Warm: Once you get on the boat and under the sun. While waiting in line it was a little chilly.

  • No life jackets: Life jackets are not provided and the water is very deep but I felt safe. You are not allowed in the water because it is very cold.

  • Food & Restrooms: There is a food place, gift shop and restroom accessible here.

  • How to get there: Taxi is the best choice but you can take a tour bus.

I hope this post has inspired you to take a journey to the beautiful caves of Argostoli, Kefalonia, Greece.

Love Pharaoh

Featured Posts
Check back soon
Once posts are published, you’ll see them here.
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page